Middle Eastern twist on “Pizza”

Image

I got home yesterday evening and was so hungry !

I almost picked up the phone and ordered Pizza (yes, pizza is a very well known Israeli food ((((-; )

But then I opened the fridge and saw: za’atar spice, tomatoes, excellent olives I bought in the Galilee at Saba Habib’s olive oil factory and one ball of Mozzarella cheese that was left all alone after last week’s Knaffeh dish.

I usually make Pizza and Pita dough from scratch because my mixer does all the kneading for me, but this time I didn’t want to wait…

So I sliced a pitta bread in two, added olive oil to the za’atar till a paste was formed, spread it on the pitta halves, topped with tomatoes, cheese, a bit of hot green pepper – shoved it into the oven and 15 minutes later – I have a Middle Eastern Za’atar pizza (with fresh nana/mint) leaves on top. Who needs more than this?

I guess chocolate is always in order…but I am satisfied for now…

About vegetarian foodesigns from the land of milk and honey

Shalom. My name is Michal and I'm Israeli. I would like to share with you my passion to vegetarian food, cooking and baking from scratch, using local ingredients (whatever I can find in the market, instead of using canned ingredients)
This entry was posted in Dishes with cheese, Middle Eastern Food, Za'atar spice: dishes I use it in and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

