My version of a healthy Waldorf Salad – includes fennel and ginger but NO Mayonnaise !

Waldorf salad was very popular in Israel when I was a kid. It was served on every wedding !!! till we all became sick of it (-:

I don’t like the original version which contains mayonnaise but I do like the combination of fresh apples, Pineapple and celery so I make my own version and add fresh fennel, ginger, a little bit of honey and goat milk yogurt.

Image

2 Granny Smith apples (skin ON) – diced
3-4 celery stalks – diced
1 fennel – diced
1 fresh pineapple – diced
1 Tbsp fresh grated ginger
1-2 Tbsp honey
Optional – several tablespoons of THICK yogurt (I prefer goat/sheep milk yogurt)

About vegetarian foodesigns from the land of milk and honey

Shalom. My name is Michal and I'm Israeli. I would like to share with you my passion to vegetarian food, cooking and baking from scratch, using local ingredients (whatever I can find in the market, instead of using canned ingredients)
This entry was posted in Dishes with Fennel, Fresh Vegetable Salads and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My version of a healthy Waldorf Salad – includes fennel and ginger but NO Mayonnaise !

  1. Michal – Every flavor is fantastic and marries well. I agree – leave that salubrious skin ON. Oh, gosh, I love every recipe and photo that you put out. I am MOVING in! đŸ™‚ Best wishes, Shanna

  2. This dish looks delicious and sounds so refreshing! I like how you left out the mayonnaise and added yogurt instead. Thanks for sharing! đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

