My version of Pumpkin-shake/smoothie

I’m adding this to my Pumpkin Album (even though it should be categorized under “smoothies” as well):

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.410843402316888.94903.315981911803038&type=1

Image

After steaming the pumpkin/squash (I’m not sure I even know the difference between the two), I used some of it to make my own version of pumpkin-smoothie.

Steaming the pumpkin is better than cooking it in water, unless you are making a soup and using the water as well. The pumpkin doesn’t absorb more liquid or loses its vitamins to the water.

Image

This amount is for two servings:
1 cup (about 250 grams) homemade mashed pumpkin
1 ripe banana
1/2 cup almond milk
1/2 cup coconut milk
1 tsp ground cinnamon
A pinch of ground cloves
A pinch of ground cardamom (or as much as you’d like)
1 Tbsp freshly grated ginger
2 Tbsp Silan (Date molasses) or 100% natural Maple syrup

Blend all the ingredients in your blender or use a stick blender (my favorite electrical appliance in the kitchen…) for several minutes till it becomes smooth and very creamy.

Pour the shake/smoothie into two large glasses and add a Tbsp of thick coconut cream (I use the 21% fat coconut cream, refrigerate it overnight and scoop out the top layer).
Sprinkle some ground cinnamon and enjoy.

About vegetarian foodesigns from the land of milk and honey

Shalom. My name is Michal and I'm Israeli. I would like to share with you my passion to vegetarian food, cooking and baking from scratch, using local ingredients (whatever I can find in the market, instead of using canned ingredients)
This entry was posted in Fresh Juices and Smoothies, Pumpkin - sweet and savory dishes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My version of Pumpkin-shake/smoothie

  1. Carolina says:

    This looks very good and full of good ingredients! I will have to try it sometime! 🙂 (p.s.> great idea the facebook page I can’t wait to check for your new posts there! :D) all the best to you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

