Couscous Salad with oranges, pomegranates, Dates, Nana/Mint and Nuts

Couscous is usually tied to savory dishes but this morning I made myself a fresh couscous fruit salad instead of eating regular cereal.

I used white semolina couscous but feel free to replace it with whole semolina couscous.

Image

– 1 cup COOKED couscous (I make it from scratch – the traditional way – and freeze it in small plastic bags but you can use packaged instant couscous, add boiling water, wait several minutes and then using a fork, “fluff” it to separate the grains).

– 3 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil

– 3 oranges – cut into fillets (here’s a video that explains how to fillet an orange: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OHTrCz0-vvI)

– 3 medjhool dates, skinned, pitted and cut into stripes

– 1/2 cup pomegranate seeds (I used this simple Israeli device: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yhbwlo6va7I)

– 1/4-1/2 cup roasted (not salted) pistachios

– 1/2 cup chopped fresh Nana/Mint leaves

– 1 Tbsp honey
– 1 Tbsp pomegranate syrup/pomegranate molasses

Add all the ingredients except the honey and pomegranate syrup to the couscous grains but make sure you don’t over-mix because then the couscous will become mushy.
Drizzle honey and pomegranate syrup on top and add more if needed.
I like the tartness of the pomegranate syrup so I added some more.

About vegetarian foodesigns from the land of milk and honey

Shalom. My name is Michal and I'm Israeli. I would like to share with you my passion to vegetarian food, cooking and baking from scratch, using local ingredients (whatever I can find in the market, instead of using canned ingredients)
This entry was posted in Citrus Fruits, Couscous Dishes, Fresh Vegetable Salads and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Couscous Salad with oranges, pomegranates, Dates, Nana/Mint and Nuts

  1. Oh, Michal. Many of my favorite flavors in one dish. Orange. Pistachio. Date. Mint. Pomegranate. Honey. You are are hired as my personal chef for life. 🙂 Amazing. Warmly, Shanna

Leave a Reply

