“RAW”, Vegan, Gluten-Free date chocolate Brownies

Image

 

I’m not a RAW foodie although I do make a lot of RAW dishes and sweets. 

I’ve been following this “raw foods” trend lately and was wondering what the big deal is, I mean I’ve been vegetarian for 22 years now and I’m used to eating RAW vegetables, fruits and nuts (IN ADDITION TO OTHER FOODS). 
I’m not a health fanatic, to say the least, and I love wheat products, dairies (especially goat-milk-products) and CAKES ! 

But since I’ve come across so many recipes of RAW cakes, mainly “chocolate” cakes made of dates, I thought I should give it a try…

And of course, I HAD to “cheat” a little and add a cocoa topping, but – hey, you don’t have to learn from me (-:

My conclusions are:
1) Yummy !!!!!!!!!!!!!
2) VERY sweet (Fructose, mainly !)
3) Fattening (almonds, nuts)
4) Not exactly a low calorie treat…to say the least..

For a 23X19 cm (9X7.5 inch) pan

500 grams (1.1 lbs) Medjoul dates, pitted
200 grams (7 oz) blanched almonds (you can try natural almonds, I guess)
50 grams (1.75 oz) pure 100% maple syrup or Silan (100% date mollasses)
50 grams (1.75 oz) good quality unsweetened cocoa powder
a pinch of sea salt
Optional – 1 Tbsp softened cold pressed coconut fat

50 grams walnuts, chopped – to be added manually !

For the topping:
50 grams cold-press coconut oil
50 grams unsweetened cocoa powder
50-60 grams pure 100% Maple syrup
50 grams Almond milk

Preparation:
Place the almonds in a food processor and process till they are finely ground. I continued processing them in a coffee grinder, in several batches, till they were almost as fine as flour. Place them back in the food processor. 

Add the maple, cacao and salt and pulse till all ingredients are combined.

Add the dates, a few at a time, and process till you get a sticky and even creamy mixture.

Scrape the mixture off the sides of the food processor bowl and place it in a different bowl.

Add the chopped walnuts and mix them with the date mixture by squeezing the mixture in your hand. Here is the time to take out some aggression (-:

Press the mixture into the cake tin lined with baking paper and if you want to make it easier on yourself – roll the mixture between two sheets of baking paper till it reaches the exact measurements of the tin.

Refrigerate and prepare the topping:
In a small saucepan, combine the cocoa powder with the maple and coconut oil/fat. You don’t really need to heat the ingredients if the coconut oil is soft but if the weather is cold and the coconut fat is too firm, heat them and stir on low heat till they are combined and then add the almond milk and stir. The cream has to be glossy and even so it may need a few more drops of milk.
Pour it on the date mixture, spread with an angled palette and sprinkle more chopped walnuts.
Refrigerate overnight ! (for several hours) and only then – cut into squares.
The mixture will thicken even more after a day or two.

Image

About vegetarian foodesigns from the land of milk and honey

Shalom. My name is Michal and I'm Israeli. I would like to share with you my passion to vegetarian food, cooking and baking from scratch, using local ingredients (whatever I can find in the market, instead of using canned ingredients)
This entry was posted in Fresh Vegetable Salads and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to “RAW”, Vegan, Gluten-Free date chocolate Brownies

  1. I can’t wait to make these! Warmly, Shanna

  2. Lovely ….. I cannot wait to make these.

Leave a Reply

