It’s Fennel Season now in Israel

I love fennel – both raw and cooked. I also love using the seeds in tea infusions (relieves digestion discomfort) and in salads, after they were soaked in boiling water for the tea) but do not use too much for salads because they have a very distinctive anise flavor.Image

For this salad (and this is just an idea for you to play with)

2 Apples (skin on) – cut into 1 cm (1/2 inch) squares
1 fennel – diced
1-2 celery stalks – chopped
3/4 cup pomegranate arils
1/2 cup fresh Nana/mint leaves – chopped
2 Tbsp fresh lemon juice
1 Tbsp fennel seeds – soaked in boiling water for 10 minutes and drained
1-2 Tbsp honey

About vegetarian foodesigns from the land of milk and honey

Shalom. My name is Michal and I'm Israeli. I would like to share with you my passion to vegetarian food, cooking and baking from scratch, using local ingredients (whatever I can find in the market, instead of using canned ingredients)
This entry was posted in Dishes with Fennel, Fresh Vegetable Salads and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s Fennel Season now in Israel

  1. n4meat says:

    I picked up beautiful baby fennel in the shuk the other day – they are sweet and the aniseed flavour (which I’m not really a fan of) is not overpowering. I’ve been eating them raw but this is an excellent looking salad and will give it a shot.

Leave a Reply

