Another week, Another Batch of Hummus

Another week, Another Batch of Hummus

My first post deals with a staple Israeli, Middle-Eastern food: Hummus.

I’m giving you a basic recipe for my Hummus paste but will post more ideas and suggestions for Hummus dips later.

I prefer home-cooked chickpeas to canned ones so every couple of weeks, I soak 500 grams (1.1 lb) of chickpeas in plenty of water and leave them in the water for 12-24 hours, changing the water 3 times !!! during this time.

Image

After the chickpeas have spent 12-24 hours in water,

Image

drain them and rinse,

Image

place in a pressure cooker, cover with water and cook for 2 hours !

Image

After the chickpeas have been cooked – you can either make the hummus right away (I love it when it’s warm) or – drain the chickpeas, divide into plastic bags and freeze.

I divide the remaining chickpeas into portions of 150 grams (5.25 oz) – which yields one serving and take it out of the freezer the day before I intend to make the hummus or defrost it in the microwave for several minutes.

Image

My basic Hummus paste recipe (2 servings)

300 grams (10.5 oz) COOKED chickpeas

100 grams (3.5 oz) raw tahini

2 Tbsp fresh squeezed lemon juice

5-6 Tbsp water (I recommend using the water that the chickpeas were cooked in)

1-2 crushed garlic cloves (optional)

salt and black pepper to taste

cumin – optional but highly recommended.

Place all the ingredients in a food processor or blend them in a bowl with a stick blender. The paste should be thick but if it’s too thick – you can add a little bit more water.

The best way to serve it is warm with a dollop of tahini paste (Tarator, in Arabic).

Image

About vegetarian foodesigns from the land of milk and honey

Shalom. My name is Michal and I'm Israeli. I would like to share with you my passion to vegetarian food, cooking and baking from scratch, using local ingredients (whatever I can find in the market, instead of using canned ingredients)
This entry was posted in Hummus - and more... and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Another week, Another Batch of Hummus

  1. THIS is amazing! Love it

  2. n4meat says:

    My recipe doesn’t need a pressure cooker or anywhere near as long to cook. Looking forward to reading more!

  3. So how come it takes you a lot less to cook those stubborn chicks? sorry, chickpeas (-: I guess I love them very tender before I make a paste out of them.

  4. I cook my beans in the slow cooker. I make sure there is plenty of water, and turn it on low for 6 to 8 hours. The beans are usually very soft, almost too soft for some meals! I’m also bad, because I don’t pre-soak them. I just sort through them for stones and bad ones, rinse them, and cook.

    • You have to pre-soak them at least over night. It’s a must when it comes to chickpeas and beans. Why don’t you?
      Then you can cook in a pressure cooker for 2 hours. Do you have a pressure cooker?

      • I don’t have a pressure cooker, so that makes beans a longer process for me. I know that soaking is supposed to help eliminate some of the sugars and other bits and pieces that cause gas, but I’ve never noticed a difference one way or the other, so I take the lazy approach.

  5. glutenfreeveganduo says:

    I finally came up with my hummus recipe! Check it out 🙂
    http://glutenfreeveganduo.wordpress.com/2013/11/19/our-hummus-in-the-blender-recipe/

  6. Pingback: Hummus: served with tahini sauce/tarator and sauteed mushrooms | Vegetarian Foodesigns from the Land of Milk and Honey

  7. Pingback: Hummus with Avocado | Vegetarian Foodesigns from the Land of Milk and Honey

  8. I love hummus. I must be Israeli at heart. 🙂

Leave a Reply

